This weeks fitness focus

Let’s talk fitness 🙂

A lot of my posts lately have been focused on healthier food options, but I haven’t gone into detail about any exercises I’m currently doing.

I joined a Power Yoga/Pilates class last week and it’s every Tuesday and Thursday night. I absolutely love what the combination of the classes do for my body. There’s a lot of focus on building  your core muscles which help strengthen your back, give you better posture, and a lean physique.

I’m also doing Jillian Micheal’s 30 day shred. This video is amazing and you definitely feel the results right away. It takes about six weeks to actually see any  results, but if you stick with it the results will show. It’s a combination of cardio and strength training in only 30 minutes. It’s perfect for people with a busy schedule but don’t be fooled because this will give you a great workout. There are three levels  and you do each level for 30 days, hence the name 30 day shred.

In level one (which is what I’m currently on) the only equipment you need are dumb bells and a yoga mat.

This is an all over body workout, so your glutes, arms, chest, quads, abs, everything is incorporated in the workouts.

The idea of combined cardio and strength training is brilliant, because in order to burn fat you have to get your heart rate up. This is not something I would necessarily recommended for weight loss, but it’s great  dvd for toning the body.

My goal for the entire month of February is to strength train at least three days a week. With a combination of my daily cardio, the yoga and strength training should put me in pretty good shape.

What workouts are you currently incorporating? I’d love to hear what you guys are interested in!

Thanks guys!

🙂

By Becca

Leave a Reply

